Gothumai Rawai (Broken Wheat) Upma

Print Friendly and PDF
Best Blogger Tips
Quote of the day:If we are not free, no one will respect us: Abdul Kalam
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
P1090972-1


Are you here looking for quick easy breakfast recipes? Then this is the right choice. This healthy upma is a breeze to make. Few ingredients go into the making of this delicious yet simple upma. Athai makes it often and this is proof that very few ingredients are just enough to provide a wholesome breakfast. I also make it for dinner sometimes and  my family loves to have them with yoghurt and pickle.
Ingredients:
  1. ½ cups Gothumai rawai / Broken wheat
  2. ½ cups water
  3. 2 tablespoon grated coconut(optional)
  4. 3/4 th teaspoon salt
For seasoning:
  1. 1 taespoon mustard
  2. 1 teaspoon ullutham paruppu/broken urid dhal
  3. 1 tablespoon finey chopped ginger
  4. 5 red chillies
  5. curry leaves
  6. oil for seasoning
P1090969-1 Procedure:
  1. Boil the water in a separate pan
  2. Heat oil in a pan and add the seasoning in the order given.
  3. Now add the rawai and saute well for few minutes. 
  4. Add salt and mix in the water and make sure no lumps are formed.
  5. Close the lid and simmer for about 5 minutes or until the upma comes to the consistency shown.
  6. Finally add grated coconut and serve warm.
TIPS: This Upma can be served with Coconut chutney or Sambhar. We prefer to have it with curd and pickle. Some have it with sugar too.
This upma will absorb all the water as it simmers, so do not worry if you feel the water is too much as you add it initially. If you need a gooey texture then add another 1/2 cup water or decrease 1/2 a cup if you need a loose texture upma( it depends on the rawai used). 
Two to three green chillies can be added along with red chillies. 

Gothumai Rawai Upma

21 comments:

  1. very easy and filling dish...

    ReplyDelete
  2. Healthy nad yummy upma...anytime comforting upma

    ReplyDelete
  3. yummy and delicious upma.
    indu srinivasan
    kattameethatheeka.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. I often prepare this. I love them to eat with curd and pickle.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wat a healthy and super satisfying upma..

    ReplyDelete
  6. Beautiful clicks! Healthy recipe.....

    ReplyDelete
  7. Upma looks really good. The pickle more so.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburchoutlets.us.com

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadesoutlet.us.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlets.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletofficial.us.com

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for visiting Cilantro~my blog!. Your feedback is highly appreciated.
I read and try to respond to every query/comment made here and I apologize if I am not able to do so.
Thank you for all you’re support, it means a lot. :).

Cilantro.

Follow Me on Pinterest Related Posts with Thumbnails